In a nutshell:

  • If you delete a TikTok, the video’s gone forever, including its views and engagement
  • You can alternatively private TikTok videos and keep their likes and engagement
  • TikTok doesn’t have an option to mass delete videos

TikTok is one of the biggest platforms right now for content creators. Every video uploaded adds to a creator’s views and engagement. Deleting a TikTok video or deleting a TikTok account is a commitment since you can’t take those views back. 

However, if you still want to push through with deleting your TikTok video, here’s a step-by-step guide to do it. 

Should you delete old videos?

Generally, whether your old videos have 100 views or less, it’s best to keep them up. Not only do they boost your total TikTok views, but they also keep potential engagements coming. However, some content creators still choose to delete their old videos. If you want to go that path, that’s perfectly fine too.

Advertisement


When should you consider deleting old TikToks?

Staying on brand is what makes content creators successful on the platform. Every creator starts small, and there might be some old videos on your account that don’t represent your current branding. If you don’t want to confuse your audience with what kind of content you’re doing, then you can delete those videos. 

Another reason for deleting a TikTok video could just be a tiny mistake you catch early on. Perhaps you used the wrong audio or uploaded an incomplete video, you should delete the video asap and upload the correct one. To avoid this from happening, save your videos as a draft first and recheck everything before clicking upload. However, if the video is already circulating in your audience and gaining views, it might not be worth deleting it even with a mistake. 

While we advise you not to delete a TikTok video that could be beneficial to your account, it’s still up to you if you don’t like the video or just don’t want to have it up anymore. 

How to delete a TikTok

Deleting a TikTok video is not a complicated process. Before you commit, however, make sure you save copies of the videos first because it is irreversible. Follow these steps to delete a video: 

Using mobile

  1. Open TikTok app 
  2. Head over to the Profile tab 
  3. Click the video you want to delete 
  4. Tap the three-circle icon on the lower right part of the video 
  5. On the bottom menu, scroll to the right
  6. Tap the delete option 

Using desktop 

  1. Sign in to tiktok.com 
  2. Click “view profile” on the upper right side of the screen
  3. Choose the video you want to delete 
  4. Tap the three-circle icon on the right side of the video 
  5.  Click the delete option 

Note: TikTok will first ask if you’re sure about deleting any videos you uploaded. If you’re sure you want to delete the video, proceed.

Can you get a video back after it’s been deleted?

Unfortunately, TikTok doesn’t have a “recently deleted” option where you can upload videos back after deleting them. Once you delete your videos, it’s all gone, including the views and engagements the video got.

However, if you have a copy of the video saved on your phone, you can upload that. However, it will be a new upload and must start from square one regarding views and engagement.

Alternatives to deleting your TikTok videos

If you’re not 100 percent set on deleting a TikTok, you can make it private. TikTok has an option where you can hide the video and get it back up whenever you’re ready. Also, you won’t lose all the video’s likes and engagement. To do this, follow these steps: 

How to private a TikTok 

  1. Open TikTok app 
  2. Head over to the Profile tab 
  3. Click the video you want to hide
  4. Tap the three-circle icon on the lower right part of the video 
  5. On the bottom menu, scroll to the right
  6. Click the “privacy settings” option 
  7. Set the “Who can watch this video” setting from “Everyone” to “Only me” 

If you later change your mind and want to unprivate the video, you follow the same steps listed above. However, instead of selecting “Only me,” you would select “Everyone” when choosing who can watch the video.

Can you delete TikTok videos all at once? 

TikTok doesn’t have the option in their app to mass delete videos. You have to remove them individually and follow the steps above. If you want to start fresh, you will have to delete the videos individually. However, if you have hundreds of TikTok videos, it can be quite a hassle deleting every video individually. If you have a following, you might be worth to take the time to delete all the videos you want to delete. If you don’t have a following, you can always create a new account and private your old one.

Deleting a TikTok video is a commitment 

Deleting any TikTok is a commitment, especially if you have been building your brand for quite some time. If you are unsure if you should hit that delete button, you can always private the video if you do decide you want it back down the line. However, if you want them gone forever, make sure you are 100 percent final with your decision before hitting delete.