In a nutshell

TikTok offers a quick, easy way to delete your account
You can delete your account using either your smartphone or a desktop
You have 30 days to reinstate your account before it’s officially deleted

TikTok, officially a global phenomenon, is now leading the industry, pushing platforms like YouTube, Facebook and Instagram to lean into short-form video content. Launching in 2016, it was the most downloaded app in 2018 and still continues to grow in users. In total, TikTok has over a billion users worldwide. However, despite its popularity, it is perfectly fine if you decide you no longer want to have a TikTok account. While it’s a big decision to delete your account, it’s thankfully easy to do if you do decide you want to say bon voyage to the platform.

In this guide, we will walk you through the steps you have to take to delete your TikTok account. We will also cover how you can get your account back if you change your mind down the line.

Advertisement


Why delete your TikTok account in the first place?

With how long it takes to build a following on TikTok, you may wonder why anyone would want to quit the platform and delete their account. Well, reasons can vary from person to person. A common reason people avoid TikTok in the first place, and what could drive people to delete their accounts, is privacy concerns. TikTok, and its parent company ByteDance, have both been subject to claims of collecting and sharing users’ data to Chinese servers. This alone could drive people away from TikTok. These are claims and are currently under close watch from the United States government, which believes the platform poses a real threat to national security.

Other reasons for deleting a TikTok account could include changing your content strategy and finding that short-form videos aren’t right for your brand. It could also be that you want to rebrand and start fresh with a new account. Or, it can be as simple as no longer wanting to be on the platform.

Regardless of the reason, deleting your TikTok account means that you will no longer be able to post or participate through that account. Additionally, all of your posts are deleted. This means that no one can access your content — including you. This is a big decision, especially if you have a large portfolio of videos you spent time making. It’s also important to note that all of your messages on the account will be deleted as well. For many looking to delete their TikTok accounts, it won’t be an issue. However, for creators who have spent time and resources making content for TikTok, be sure to take a moment’s pause to ensure this is what you want to do. If so, it may be a good idea to back up your videos if, down the line, you want to use the content you created elsewhere.

How to delete your TikTok account

The procedure for deleting your TikTok account is not complicated. Also, to be clear, removing the app from your phone doesn’t delete your account. That just deletes the app off your phone. To delete your account, you have to delete it in the app. Here’s what you have to do:

Using mobile

  1. Open the TikTok app
  2. Take one over to the Me tab
  3.  Navigate over to the three horizontal lines and select the Manage Account option and then the Delete Account button
  4. Tap on the Delete Account button again to confirm your choice

Using desktop

  1. Sign in to the TikTok account you want to delete
  2. Click on your profile photo and select the Settings option
  3. Click the Delete option next to the Delete Account label

Note: Tiktok has a security measure where it will cancel an attempt to delete an account if there’s not a proper email address or phone number associated with the account.

Can you get your account back?

What if you instantly regret your decision to delete your TikTok account? Thankfully, TikTok allows you a 30-day grace period. Essentially, TikTok holds your account in abeyance, just in case you change your mind. However, the account is officially deleted once the 30 days are up. After this, there’s no way to get your account back.

The value of having — and not having — a TikTok

TikTok, like every other social media and content-hosting platform, has its pros and cons. It allows creators to grow their audience and brand with a new, emerging form of content. However, TikTok isn’t necessarily for every creator, and sometimes the only way to figure that out is to try it out. If you create a TikTok account and later find out that it isn’t your cup of tea, there’s nothing wrong with deleting your account. However, be sure you really want to delete your account before hitting the delete button.