In a nutshell
- TikTok allows its users to repost, or share, videos from other users
- Getting your audience to repost your videos can be a great way to get your name out there
- The reposted video is shared with those sharer’s followers
Nowadays, pretty much every social media app has a share feature. With Instagram, users can share someone’s content on their stories. On Facebook, anyone can share another post to their timeline. Twitter has retweets. Earlier this year, TikTok followed suit and released a new feature allowing users and creators alike to repost videos.
So, what does a repost look like on TikTok? We will cover what a repost is and how to repost on TikTok.
The repost button explained
The repost button on TikTok allows users to share a video from other creators, either from their For You Page or from a creator’s profile. Reposting will share a video with a user’s followers. The most comparable feature on social media is ‘retweeting’ on Twitter. A repost is very similar to a retweet; the content you repost is shared with your followers and appears on their For You Page.
There are a few things worth noting about the repost button. For instance, you can repost videos from other creators, but you can’t utilize the repost feature on your own content.
Any TikTok you repost will appear only on the For You Page of your followers—it won’t appear or stay on your main profile.
The updated version
When TikTok first launched the repost button on the app, users had the ability to turn the repost feature on and off in their settings. Since then, TikTok has implemented the repost button permanently in the share options. Now, there’s no need or ability for creators to toggle the feature.
Another change since the button was released is that any TikTok can be reposted, whether it appears on a follower’s For You Page or not. For example, a TikTok user can go to any creator’s profile, and repost any TikTok they want.
These changes make the repost button even more accessible and user-friendly, which only benefits creators on the app.
Why the repost button is good for creators
Creators always look for ways to reach more screens and get more engagement on their content.
The repost button is an easy way to get more likes, comments, and overall engagement. If someone likes a TikTok enough, they’ll share it. Sharing with their followers gives even more users the opportunity to repost the video, making reposting a great way to reach new users on the platform.
So, now that we’re clear on what the repost button does, let’s cover how to repost on TikTok.
Reposting on TikTok
Reposting on TikTok is very simple. When you come across a TikTok you want to repost—whether on your For You Page, or another creator’s profile—click the share button. This is the button that looks like an arrow. It’s located at the bottom of the menu on the right side of your screen.
From here, a menu of sharing options pops up. You can send TikToks via direct message to your friends within the TikTok app: by text message, direct message, story, or post on Instagram, and more. Recommended apps may vary depending on the user, and the available apps installed on the phone.
The repost button is the top button on this menu. It’s a yellow circle containing two arrows.
Once you click the repost button, the video is shared with your followers on their For You Pages. That’s all there is to it. If, for some reason, you want to un-repost a TikTok you’ve reposted, simply go back to the video you reposted, click the share button, and click Remove repost.
Once someone reposts a TikTok, it appears on their follower’s For You Page, identifying it as repost.
Ways to use the repost feature to your advantage
As a TikToker, features like the repost button are an excellent way to get on the screens of potential followers. So, how can you really use the repost button to your advantage?
TikToks typically don’t feature calls to action, but consider putting something in your subscription asking viewers to like and repost.
Also worth considering is collaboration with other creators on the platform. Repost each other’s content to reach new followers.
Even if you don’t create a call to action or collaborate with another creator, the repost button is an easy way for people to continually share your content with their followers. You’re reaching more viewers without putting in extra work. That’s a social media win-win!
So, there you have it. That’s how to reshare a post. While simple to do, it’s still a great tool for creators. Reposting gets your name out there, and allows you to snag a few new potential followers.